Ronald E. McNair Program Staff


Dr. Paula Borden, Ph.D.
Co-Director, Carolina Higher Education Opportunity Programs (CHEOP)

Derrick Kay, M.A.
Assistant Director, McNair Program Programs
Edward Yang
Graduate Assistant

Faculty Mentors

The Ronald E. McNair Scholars Program at UNC Chapel Hill is fortunate to have tremendous support from numerous Faculty Mentors across campus that guide Scholars through undergraduate research and provide valuable insight into the graduate application process. The following Faculty are currently serving as Mentors:

Dorothy Cilenti, Health Policy Management
Giselle Corbie-Smith, Social Medicine
Noah Eisenkraft, Kenan Flagler School of Business
Wendell Gilland, Kenan Flagler School of Business
Brian Hogan, Chemistry
Aaron Moody, Geography
Adam Saffer, Journalism & Mass Communications
Brian Strahl, Biochemistry and Biophysics
Katie Striley, Communication Studies
Steven Swartzer, Philosophy
Katherine Turk, History
Scott Warren, Chemistry

*If you are interested in serving as a faculty mentor and/or want a McNair Scholar(s) to serve
as your undergraduate research assistant, please fill out our online form.